Research under a paradigm must be a particularly effective way of inducing paradigm change

Thomas S. Kuhn, The Structure of Scientific Revolutions 


The Academy was initiated 1980 together with the International Council of Scientific Development (ICSD) in Munich by Robert Spaemann (until 1987), Michael Michailov and Reinhard Löw together with 42 scientists from LMU, TU, GSF (now Helmholtz Zentrum München)*,Max Planck Society and Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities. A selection of Munich members can be accessed here (PDF). The first IAS-ICSD Secretariat was located in the GSF National Research Center for Environment and Health (now the German Research Center for Environmental Health, Helmholtz Zentrum München).

The Munich "nucleus" founded the Initiating Committee (IC). Until 1990 (foundation phase) more than 700 academicians (from more than 80 National Academies of Sciences), including Nobel Laureates accepted membership and participation in the IAS-ICSD. A selection of founding members can be accessed here (PDF).

Ilya Prigogine was Founding President of the ICSD-IAS, Co-Presidents were Angel Balevski (Bulgarian Academy of Science) and Partrap S. Srivastara (1984-1989).  Linus Karl Pauling was the Honorary President of ICSD-IAS till the end of his life.  

 Until his selection as President of the International Council for Science 2008 Yuan T. Lee  supported as Honorary President the international development of the IAS*.

Honorary Presidents of the Academy were: Jean Dausset (France), Alexander Prokohorov (Russia), Yujiro Ikemi (Japan) and Georg Kahn-Ackermann (Germany).The second presidium  can be accessed here (PDF).

At the Institute of Biological Sciences, Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences , University of Rostock (PDF)  an "Office for Co-Ordination of International Transfer of Research, Education and  Technology of ICSD/IAS" was established (cooperation partner of the University). 

Legal Foundation of Sections and Comittees (after 1990)

National Sections of the Academy were founded and active in: East Europe (Member List), Albania, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, France (Member List), Germany, India, Japan,  Russiaetc..  1991 the Japan Concil for Sciencifc Development (JCSD) was formaly founded. First JCSD Präsident was Sugawara Tsutomu from the University of Kyoto, first Secretary Kenji Takeshita (Kansai-University,Law Department).

In October 1993 in Moscow, in the Constituent Assembly with active support of Russian Academy of Medical Science the Russian Section of International Academy of Science (RS IAS) was established. The leading scientists of state academies of Russian Academy of Science, of Russian Academy of Medical Science, of Russian Academy of Education, of series of public academies, scientific and educational institutions of Russia are members of Russian Section. At the beginning of establishing of Russian Section of IAS were the prominent representatives of domestic science: Nobel Prize Laureates N.G.BasovA.M.Prokhorov, Academicians N.N.Moiseyev, V.I.Pokrovskiy, K.V.Sudakov, N.P.Laverov, F.I.Komarov, O.L.Kuznetsov and others. (10 Year Report 2003)

The Azerbaijan Section was established on 03 November 2001. The founders of Azerbaijan section of IAS were: National Academy of Sciences, National Academy of Aviation, Baku State University, Azerbaijan University of Architecture and Construction, Azerbaijan Medical University, Azerbaijan Technical University, Azerbaijan Economical University, University “Khazar”, ISTC “INTERGEO-TETHYS”, Scientific Research Institute of Forecasting and Studying of Earthquakes and other organizations (Report).

*Source: SCIENCE WITHOUT BORDERS. Transactions of the International Academy of Science H&E. Vol.2. 2005/2006, ICSD/IAS H&E, Innsbruck, 2006, 16-20. For 10-years of establishing the Russian Section of International Academy of Science

General Source: International Academy of Science-International Council of Scientific Development. Report of Foundation. München 1989, 98 p.